a bad case of rambling might have taken over half way through this post

Guys, I REALLY don’t want to go back to work tomorrow. Seriously. It’s not that I don’t like my job; it just really stresses me out. Only, when I’m right in the middle of it, I don’t notice the stress. Or something. Obviously, I just need to get a job doing something less stressful. Anybody want to pay me to train horses or coach crossfit? No? Are you sure?? Maybe you all could just turn me into a famous blogger. I’m not entirely sure how one actually makes a profit bogging, but I know it happens. Occasionally. And you have to be famous to do it. So get on that.

I think I should at least get some free stuff out of this blogging thing. I have a friend who writes about being a triathlete and gets all kinds of free shit sent to her. Although maybe people don’t want you advertising their products on a blog where you say things like “free shit.” Ahem, let me try that again: athletic stuff.

It just doesn’t have the ring to it.

Plus, I strongly suspect that she is a bit better at focusing on a single topic in her blog and doesn’t go rambling off onto tangents that quickly turn into blog posts of their own. Which is totally happening right now. Again.

I meant to write about getting back from vacation because the week after vacation is when the excel spreadsheet sitting in my email inbox titled “Lizzy and Anna’s Marathon training plan” says I have to start running. And it’s got REAL numbers people. This is terrifying. I actually have mileage that I have to hit EVERY WEEK. I can’t just be like “I was out of town this weekend. I don’t need to do a long run,” or “My back hurts from doing deadlifts yesterday. Five or six miles is close enough to the ten I meant to do.”

On the bright side, L has agreed to run the thing with me (which is good, because Josh is turning out to be a much faster runner than I initially suspected), and train with me, and has written up crossfit-compatible running plan for us. AND she keeps insisting that we can finish the thing in in UNDER FOUR-AND-A-HALF HOURS. Yeah. About that. My goal was just to finish it.

I tried complaining to another friend about unreasonableness of this lofty goal (comparatively lofty—it’s a totally reasonable goal for L), and received the less than sympathetic response: “So, have you heard of this thing called ‘training’?” The idea, of course, is that if I train for a 4:30 pace, which I am aware is not exactly warp speed, I can run a 4:30 pace.

And I’m sure I can.

The problem is that I’m not really a runner anymore. Up to this point, I refused to sacrifice any crossfitting for running. I would happily do WODs at the end of the week that I knew would leave me limping and whining for my long weekend runs (whining more than usual, that is). And if I didn’t run at all during the week because I decided to go to the box eight times instead, that was fine.

My problem here is not the limited number of hours available in a day; I was a time-management rockstar in college. (Said rockstar skills may have gone downhill since then, but that’s only because I don’t need them anymore.) The problem that I didn’t foresee at the beginning of this adventure is that my body can only tolerate a certain amount of torture and still function the way I want it to.

I miss riding terribly, but when I started crossfit, I was so relieved to have found a sport I could practice AS MUCH AS I WANTED. After all, the one I came from was largely moderated by how much money you had and who you knew (both of these things translated into the number of horses you could own, beg, or borrow—which equaled hours in the saddle). So you can understand my dismay in realizing that there is, in fact, a limit to the amount of crossfit to which I can (should) subject myself.

And now I’m going to be able to crossfit EVEN LESS because of this silly race. (Of course, I know it’s not really silly, and I never would have been happy if I hadn’t signed up for it.)

Watching L train for her Iron Man has brought this point home for me. And I know I won’t have to give up half as much crossfitting as she has because the marathon is soooo very much shorter than an entire IRON MAN. But it seems to be that you can’t be really good at both. (Please don’t get offended if you are the best endurance crossfitter out there. What I really mean is that I don’t think I can do both well. Probably you can.)

So I’m going to have to cut back ever so slightly on the crossfitting for a couple of months, because now that the idea’s in my head, I REALLY want this marathon in under 4:30. But I’m starting to think I might give up distance running after this. I’ll still do the speedwork and the hills (the things I used to hate), but I’m not so sure about these long slow miles.

I don’t know. It’s just a thought.

Sorry this post was neither funny nor pretty. I just wanted to write it for myself. And since I make a habit of publishing my diary online, you all had to listen. How in the world did I con you into that? 

Leave a Reply

