at least I know that I’ll make it 0.61538 of the way through my marathon

Oh my goodness, I want a waffle so much right now. Or some peanut butter cookies. Or maybe chocolate chip pancakes. I was bad last week. Terrible, actually. I pretty much just ate like I was on vacation (we all know calories consumed on vacation don’t count), and I had alcohol TWICE. And I decided that it was totally okay to eat whatever I wanted all weekend too because I ran 16 miles on Saturday. So I NEEDED to eat the carbs.

See how I slipped my mileage in there like it was no big deal? Actually, 16 miles is one mile further than I have ever run before. Ever. And I didn’t even feel like I was going to die at the end of it, which was kind of a nice change from my usual long runs.

Lizzy had a triathlon last weekend, and Kate is in Maine, and I was going to be really grumpy having to run for almost three hours by myself, but then Josh volunteered to go with me instead. I was surprised, since this meant that he had to run at a glacially slow pace. But it may have helped that I bribed him with caffeinated chocolate Gu. I suspect that Josh is a caffeine addict, because I’m pretty sure he started drooling when I told him that caffeinated Gu was a real thing. Honestly though, I think I might be turning into a caffeine addict too. ‘If you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em,’ right? Or just start your own party, I guess. But you might need some extra energy for all that party planning, so you’d better have some more caffeine.

I think I might have to buy one of those made-for-running fanny pack things that I’ve always thought looked so dumb on other people, so I can wear it in the marathon. Mostly because I want to bring my caffeine with me, but also because I refuse to go through the hassle of checking a bag and don’t have anybody coming to watch. (Not that I blame them; I can’t think of anything more boring than watching a marathon.) And there is a limit to the amount of things you can stuff into a sports bra without risking some serious chafing. I know this because I have discovered the limit during a previous experience: driver’s license, car key, cell phone, MP3 player, fruit snacks, and chapstick. No, I do not have humongous boobs. Yes, I’m sure I looked a bit lumpy on that particular occasion.

Josh has pockets in his running shorts. Why don’t they put pockets in ladies’ shorts too? This doesn’t seem fair.

One thought on “at least I know that I’ll make it 0.61538 of the way through my marathon

Leave a Reply

