so what’s the big secret?

I quit my job last week. I’ve never done that before. In a strange coincidence, Roomie also did the same thing a few days later. It’s a complete relief that I can stop spending all my free time on this job hunting process, which is nobody’s favorite pastime, but actually quitting a job for the first time is surprisingly complicated and awkward.

Every time I would ask someone about resigning from a job, they would answer with something like, “Don’t worry about it, people do this all the time. As long as you give them enough notice, they can’t have anything to complain about when you tell them.”

People, that is the answer to a question I did not ask. When I ask how to quit my job, I mean literally, How do I start that conversation? Should I do it in the morning or at the end of the day? What do I write in the resignation letter? Should I answer if they ask what company I’ll be working for? Do I have to tell both bosses or just one? Why am I having a heart attack about all of this?

The only person who really seemed to understand my conundrum was Roomie. But she was, unfortunately, no help at all because she was asking all the same ridiculously nit-pickey questions that I was. I kept texting her for moral support anyhow: “Man, they need to write an instruction manual on How to Quit Your Job. I would totally buy that.”

Except now that I’ve done it once, I’m an expert and I guess I don’t need the instruction manual anymore. But I would have given anything for it a week ago.

Leave a Reply

